Event Listings


Industry Event Photos

Event Date:
April 1, 2003  

Address:


Contact Info:
Go to www.cityofchicago.org,
dial 311 (city of Chicago only)
or call 1-800-5-UPDOWN PROPOSED CHICAGO SMOKING BAN
ATTENTION ALL SMOKERS!
The end of smoking as we know and enjoy it?

The City Council of Chicago recently reintroduced a proposal to ban smoking within the city limits. The personal rights of smokers in Chicago – and perhaps the nation – are at stake. This ordinance will BAN SMOKING in ALL:
 Restaurants and Bars that serve food.
 Public Places: Retail Stores, Conventions and Stadiums.
 Offices and Meeting Rooms
 Common areas in Hotels, Apartment Buildings, and Condos.

A majority of our Aldermen plan to outlaw smoking in every place
except private homes and vehicles.
A TOTAL SMOKING BAN!

Don’t believe this cannot happen!
Major metropolitan areas in states including California, New York, Florida, etc.,
have already approved and enacted similar closed-minded legislation.

Don’t Allow Your City to Deny Your Right to Smoke! The right to smoke is far from the only issue at stake should this ordinance pass. A law that would exclude smokers from its hotel rooms, exhibition halls and restaurants endangers Chicago’s status as a world-class city.
We submit that a more reasonable compromise be met.
Ultimately, a law’s worth lies in its enforceability. How would a no-smoking ban in Chicago be maintained?
Would police actually be required to arrest and jail people because they are smoking?
Are business owners expected to turn in smokers who indulge in their establishments – even if they are opposed to the ban?
Are fines, citizens’ arrests or inspections going to be the primary means of enforcement?
In sum, we urge the citizens and aldermen of Chicago to consider an alternative proposal.
Banning smoking will not allow non-smokers to live forever nor will it increase the quality of life in our wonderful, unique city.
If the city honestly desires cleaner, safer air to breathe, it will target car, bus, and industrial emissions that dirty its skies every day. The myriad of urban problems such as poverty, crime, drugs, and infrastructure is of much more importance and urgency than this ordinance. Communication and planning can create a solution that works for all of Chicago.

Call, fax, email, and write your Alderman and Mayor Daley to
VOICE YOUR OBJECTIONS!

Mayor Richard Daley 121 N. LaSalle Room 507, 60602 312-744-3300 located at cityofchicago.org
1 Jesse Granato 1951 W. Division, 60622 773-2520371 jgranato@cityofchicago.org
2 Madeline L. Haithcock 449 E. 35th St., 60619 773-9240014 mhaithcock@cityofchicago.org
3 Dorothy Tillman 4645 S. King Dr., 60653 773-373-3228 dtillman@cityofchicago.org
4 Toni Preckwinkle 4646 S. Drexel, 60653 773-536-8103 tpreckwinkle@cityofchicago.org
5 Leslie Hairston 1900 E. 71st St., 60649 773-324-5555 lhairston@cityofchicago.org
6 Freddrenna Lyle 406 E. 75th St., 60619 773-846-7006 flyle@cityofchicago.org
7 William Beavers 2552 E. 79th St., 60649 773-731-1515 wbeavers@cityofchicago.org
8 Todd Stroger 8539 S. Cottage Grove, 60619 773-874-3300 tstroger@cityofchicago.org
9 Anthony Beale 34 E. 112th Pl., 60628 773-785-1100 abeale@cityofchicago.org
10 John Pope 3522 E. 106th St., 60617 773-721-1999 ward10@cityofchicago.org
11 James Balcer 3659 S. Halsted, 60609 773-254-677 jbalcer@cityofchicago.org
12 Ray Frias 2456 W. 38th St., 60632 773-254-4600 rfrias@cityofchicago.org
13 Frank Olivo 6500 S. Pulaski Rd., 60629 773-581-8000 folivo@cityofchicago.org
14 Edward Burke 2650 W. 51st St., 60632 773-471-1414 eburke@cityofchicago.org
15 Theodore Thomas 2440 W. 63rd St., 60629 773-778-9609 ttthomas@cityofchicago.org
16 Shirley Coleman 1249 W. 63rd St., 60636 773-918-1670 sacoleman@cityofchicago.org
17 Latasha Thomas 7811 S. Racine Ave., 60620 773-723-0908 lrthomas@cityofchicago.org
18 Thomas Murphy 8146 S. Kedzie Ave., 60652 773-471-1991 tmurphy@cityofchicago.org
19 Virginia Rugai 10444 S. Western, 60645 773-238-8766 vrugai@cityofchicago.org
20 Arenda Troutman 5859 S. State St., 60621 773-324-5224 atroutman@cityofchicago.org
21 Rev. Leonard DeVille 1125 W. 95th St., 60643 773-779-3000 ldeville@cityofchicago.org
22 Richard Munoz 2500 S. St. Louis, 60623 773-762-1771 rmunoz@cityofchicago.org
23 Michael Zalewski 5838 Archer Ave., 60638 773-582-7323 mzalewski@cityofchicago.org
24 Michael Chandler 4325 W. Roosevelt Rd., 60624 773-522-2400 mchandler@cityofchicago.org
25 Daniel Solis 2439 S. Oakley Blvd., 60608 773-843-1200 dsolis@cityofchicago.org
26 Billy Ocasio 3236 W. Division, 60618 773-276-4269 bocasio@cityofchicago.org
27 Walter Burnett, Jr. 1436 W. Chicago Ave., 60622 312-432-1995 wburnett@cityofchicago.org
28 Ed Smith 118 N. Pulaski, 60624 773-533-0900 ehsmith@cityofchicago.org
29 Isaac Cauothers 5937 W. Madison, 60644 773-261-4646 icarothers@cityofchicago.org
30 Michael Wojcik 3616 N. Pulaski Rd., 60641 773-794-3095 mwojcik@cityofchicago.org
31 Ray Saurez 4502 W. Fullerton Ave., 60639 773-486-6488 rsaurez@cityofchicago.org
32 Theodore Matlack 2148 N. Damen Ave., 60647 773-384-3011 tmatlack@cityofchicago.org
33 Richard Mell 3649 N. Kedzie Ave., 60618 773-478-8040 rmell@cityofchicago.org
34 Carrie Austin 507 W. 111th St., 60628 773-928-6961 caustin@cityofchicago.org
35 Vilma Colom 2535 N. Kedzie Blvd., 60647 773-2796-3535 vcolom@cityofchicago.org
36 William Banks 6839 W. Belmont Ave., 60634 773-622-3232 wbanks@cityofchicago.org
37 Emma Mitts 5344 W. North Ave., 60639 773-745-2894 emitts@cityofchicago.org
38 Thomas Allen 5815 W. Irving Park Rd., 60634 773-545-3838 tallen@cityofchicago.org
39 Margaret Laurino 4404 W. Lawrence Ave., 60630 773-736-5594 mlaurino@cityofchicago.org
40 Patrick O'Conner 5850 N. Lincoln Ave., 60659 773-769-1140 ward40@cityofchicago.org
41 Brian Doherty 6650 N. Northwest Hwy., 60630 773-792-1991 bdoherty@cityofchicago.org
42 Burton Natarus 121 N. LaSalle St., Room 306, 60602 312-432-9500 bnatarus@cityofchicago.org
43 Vi Daley 735 W. Wrightwood, 60614 773-327-9111 vdaley@cityofchicago.org
44 Bernard Hansen 1057 W. Belmont Ave., 60657 773-525-6034 bhansen@cityofchicago.org
45 Patrick Levar 4849 N. Milwaukee, 60630 773-545-2545 plevar@cityofchicago.org
46 Helen Schiller 4544 N. Broadway, 60640 773-878-4646 ward46@cityofchicago.org
47 Gene Schulter 4237 N. Lincoln Ave., 60618 773-348-8400 ward47@cityofchicago.org
48 Mary Ann Smith 5533 N. Broadway Ave., 60640 773-784-5277 msmith@cityofchicago.org
49 Joe Moore 7356 N. Greenview Ave., 60626 773-338-5796 jmoore@cityofchicago.org
50 Bernard Stone 6199 N. Lincoln Ave., 60659 773-764-5050 bstone@cityofchicago.org    
go back

 
Attention All smokers!
Help keep Chicago Cigar Stores in Business!
Learn more.
© Copyright 2009
Updown Cigar
All Rights Reserved.

You must be 18 years
or older to purchase tobacco
products.